Goodbye, Quidditch Manager

Updates on anything regarding QManager
Cygnus
Site Admin
Team Name: Cardiff Corgis

Goodbye, Quidditch Manager

Postby Cygnus » Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:54 am

It is with a heavy heart that I have to inform you that Quidditch Manager will be discontinued at the end of the current season.

Quidditch Manager started as an idea while I was a PhD student and the first version was released on August 24th, 2012. It has been my first public venture into programming and I basically learned PHP and SQL by putting together and continously adding features to the game. Creating an online multiplayer game has always been challenging and I was able to gather a huge amount of experience.

Now, with a full-time job and married, the time I am able to invest in such projects is getting scarce and more precious.

Since Quidditch Manager was born from scratch and without previous experience, it has been far from easy to administer and modify. It has taken a lot of energy to maintain and enhance, even though user numbers have never taken off. Being very niche-based and partly relying on a fandom past its peak, Quidditch Manager was set to stay small and with that adequate to experiment with various aspects, without the strict requirement to be perfect.

I have had an exceptionally great time with Quidditch Manager, which involved making friends across the globe, having a friendly and productive community, who significantly helped me with my decisions, hosting livestreams of world cup match draws and countless moments more!

Quidditch Manager is a part of my life and probably influenced me more than I would like to admit.

A big Thank You to all who participated, whether it was sticking with the game for more than three years or just creating a team and immediately abandoning it.

You all left your mark in the history of Quidditch Manager and I am glad to have created a game that you felt like signing up for.